6 String Reclamation Project

I love music. Composing, performing, listening and studying it all are pastimes of mine (probably beyond pastime status but who cares, its just a label). One thing that is annoying me is the lack of powerful guitar-based music today. Yes, there are independent bands and metal bands that still know how to get the most out of a Marshall stack but where there used to be several rock bands in the top 40 lineup, now there are almost none. Even on dedicated modern rock radio stations there seems to be a lack of raw volume and heaviness that was commonplace up until the mid 1990s with popular artists.

I’m not claiming that our popular music has been completely wussified, but there are signs indicating that this is the path we’re on. Too many “ding ding ding ding ding ding” xylophone and mandolin songs are being used on commercials; I can’t remember the last time I heard a Stratocaster used to sell anything. Too many love songs permeate the airwaves by far; I get it, you love her, you want her, you had her, you lost her…tell me a different story (or at least deliver the message in a Foreigner style power ballad). And of course, there’s that God awful autotune; Don’t even get me started.

What am I really complaining about? Simple, I want a certain type of music and I’m not hearing it, that’s all. So instead of writing piece after piece about how the industry does this and that and how indie bands are kept off the radio and it’s a conspiracy, blah blah blah, I’m providing a solution. I’m going to start recording again.

You’re probably wondering when would I have the time between the training, flying, photography and non-stop eating that I do. But I have a habit of bending space-time to my own advantage. Recording is just another kink in the timeline. As a warning, I don’t sing love songs and I don’t stick to one style. As long as you’re armed with this information up front, I shouldn’t hear any complaints later.

Okay, I’m off to the studio.

About Christopher Williams

Co-Founder of Whelan & Williams Industries Inc. Sole proprietor of Liftlazy. Photographer, musician, writer, pilot and all around good guy to know.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 6 String Reclamation Project

  1. Angela says:

    Awesome, Chris!!!

Go on...I know you want to say it!

